[Archive] Board edge

faFFadylan2398:

Right my death shrieker was charged and destroyed and so my opponent over ran into the flank of my mortar. But the corner of his base went off the edge of the game board before it came into contact with my mortar should he have gone off the table or is that all legal.

I let it slip and have it I won non the less but for future reference please tell me cheers.

Dînadan:

Don’t have the rulebook to hand bu fairly sure he’d have gone off the table and returned from that point next turn. If not he’d have had to stop short (not sure which it would be- pursuers would go off, not sure about overruns) as otherwise part of his unit would be off the board which is not allowed.

Bloodbeard:

You overrun in a straight line, from where the regiment was facing during combat. No turning, no wheeling. If you get to the board edge your out. And he enters from that point again, and use the 1’’ rule if too close to your mortar. So rulewise he couldn’t what he did.

It sure sucks to miss by a fraction of an inch, but it happens in Warhammer.

Congratulations on the win.

Twisted Dwarf:

You overrun in a straight line, from where the regiment was facing during combat. No turning, no wheeling. If you get to the board edge your out. And he enters from that point again, and use the 1'' rule if too close to your mortar. So rulewise he couldn't what he did.

It sure sucks to miss by a fraction of an inch, but it happens in Warhammer.

Congratulations on the win.

Bloodbeard
Incorrect.

If your over run makes contact with an enemy you follow the rules for pursuit into a new enemy. Which clearly states "carry out the charge as you would in the movement phase. This mean you can wheel, as it counts as a normal charge. Page 119 online e rule book

Also warmachines have no flanks. So he can hit you and angle any way he wishes to set up an over run into another warmachine as you don't maximise you send a boarding party. Page 203 online rule book.

Bloodbeard:

Incorrect.

If your over run makes contact with an enemy you follow the rules for pursuit into a new enemy. Which clearly states "carry out the charge as you would in the movement phase. This mean you can wheel, as it counts as a normal charge. Page 119 online e rule book

Also warmachines have no flanks. So he can hit you and angle any way he wishes to set up an over run into another warmachine as you don't maximise you send a boarding party. Page 203 online rule book.

Twisted Dwarf
Overrun
If the victorious unit charged into combat and the enemy is wiped out, it can move 2d6 inches straight forward.

Big Red Rulebook p.58
As the enemy unit hits the board edge, before a new unit - he is clearly out of the board.

You are not allowed to make a single wheel during the overrun, in order to get into contact with a new unit. You overrun straight forward, and if you hit a new unit - then you make a wheel, but not to avoid intervening terrain . This wheel is done to maximize models in combat and closing the door.

It's not allowed to use this wheel to avoid terrain, board edge or make sure you get a new charge in. The charge must come from the straight line of movement.

Hitting the board edge (counts as intervening terrain) before the mortar - the unit is out.

Perhaps the rules is sufficiently vahue to not cover the situation. But I'll argue that I'm right (perhaps we are equally right). I would also argue, that the charger should have taken this into consideration when charging the first warmachine. As you point out, it has no flanks and he chooses the angle to fight in. He should have chosen a better angle for the fight to begin with, to ensure a perfect overrun.

TheHoodedMan:

I had such a situation in a tournament. It was not possibly for the “attacking” unit to close the door because one corner would be over the edge. The judge ruled that the “defender” had to close the rest of the door. If this was not possible the charge was counted as failed or in an overrun the unit would be placed 1 " away from the defending unit.

edit: (in our case both units stood thereafter parallel to the board`s edge and fighted).

snowblizz:

Perhaps the rules is sufficiently vahue to not cover the situation. But I'll argue that I'm right (perhaps we are equally right). I would also argue, that the charger should have taken this into consideration when charging the first warmachine. As you point out, it has no flanks and he chooses the angle to fight in. He should have chosen a better angle for the fight to begin with, to ensure a perfect overrun.

Bloodbeard
Twisted Dwarf is right.
Look at the diagram on p.58, they are not moving to unit to find it contacts an enemy, they are checking that it *will* contact which means it changes the way it moves. There is no "it will hit X first" in the rules.

Basically, if no unit exists in the "Overrun corridor" then you move straight ahead. However, if there IS a unit there then you make a normal charge move against it instead.

Just for laughs you are actually allowed to virtually pivot over the table edge as long as you don't end the movement that way.

Bloodbeard:

I stand corrected then. Thank you gentlemen.

I read the rules some times before posting and looked at the diagrams. I just really considered the table edge as “intervening terrain”.