Just wondering guys about the Chalice. Can it be used both in your magic phase and in your opponents as well? i.e. steal dispel dice from your opponent during your spell casting and steal power dice from them during their magic phase.
As stated “you may choose to roll a D3 at the start of either players magic phase. Remove this many dice from both players magic pools”. So it looks like just that a general reduction of magic dice affecting both players regardless of whose turn it is. Others MMV.
remember though it only takes dice from the ‘magic pool’; it 7th this does not include wizard specific power dice so it may only take a maximum of 2 dice from you in your magic phase and from your opponents pool in his (unless he has a magic item that adds dice to it)
i have found it decently useful against some armies. not many though. as stated above… the new rules state only common dice generated for the army as a whole so namely 2 dice are consider to be in the “Pool” but i have found that in magic heavy armies it is useful to remove dwarf dispel dice (as they get 4 base as well as against the Lizardmen Southlands Tepok Surprise Army.
I think it would be much more useful if it worked like the Rune of Balance… (take one dice from your opponents magic pool and add to your own.)