[Archive] Cheaper GW goblins.......maybe?

doc:

Hi guys, i was wondering if any one has ever tried to use the LOTR Moria Goblins as stand ins for hobgoblins/slaves?

A box of 24 plastic mini’s for £15 Moria Goblins on GW UK online store.
As apposed to a box of 20 plastic Fantasy minis for £18.

Although i have no experience with these mini’s so i dont know how diverse the weaponry is in the box. Are they a set number of spears, swords, bows? Or could you make 24 archers or 24 speargobbos, or 24 swordgobbos from the one box?
I do realise that the scale of LOTR is more like 25mm than fantasy’s 28mm heroic, but they are pictured on 25mm round bases, so they may look ok on 20mm square bases.

I think the Moria Gobbo’s have a real sneaky, beaten down, hunched over look to them. Plus i like the shields.

Hashut’s Blessing:

There are 8 with bow, 8 with spear and 8 with sword. They should look fine. Just think of it this way: 3 boxes=£45, you get three units of 24. To get that many with the fantasy goblins, it’s £9 more and you have 12 models less. The advantage of the fantasy ones, is the scale is the same (but the Morians should be fine) and you can customise them and position them and give them command etc more easily as well as arm them a unit at a time. The Morians, to my knowledge are all one pose (mostly) and one piece at least (maybe the shield is off though).

turquois dwarf:

i use LOTR dwarfs and they work fine. moria goblins would work realy well :slight_smile:

if you wanted tall hobgoblins LOTR orcs may worc particularly warg riders as wolf riders

Kera foehunter:

I think they would be a cool hobos !!

AGPO: