[Archive] games workshop store quality dropping?

torn:

I popped into my local GW store today to have a peek at the island of blood models to see if they were any good in real life, but I was really badly put off by a terrible paint job. The skaven were flat and lacked depth, and the high elf’s had terrible colour choices and really bad metallics.

What is worse is I didn’t get harassed by staff members asking me about my whole collection since 1990 and offering suggestions on how to bankrupt myself further. They never actually spoke to me.

Its pretty bad they have moved to a much smaller premesis and I can’t see how that will work as there was maybe 1 table big enough for a proper game and that was 40k. Fantasy and lotr shared a table that was maybes 4x3 together.

I think the stores may be going the way of Woolworths.

Wolf :

I noticed a similar decline in quality and customer service… But then I realise im just a better painter than when I was 10, when I first walked in to a GW store.

Also where I live they have introduced a one staff member policy during the weekdays.

I think this is due to GW’s falling profits and also to reduce costs in preparation for Hasbro’s eventual take over bid.

ThorAxe:

Gamesworkshop has been transitioning into one man stores, rather than having anything resembling a mini “battle bunker” type area, with more than one or two staff at any given time with reasonable area to play. I am unfamiliar with GW’s policies in the last 3 months, due to said store in my area being closed due to the lease running out, but more recent policy essentially was reduced to badgering anyone who stepped foot within the store, asking about arming or explaining the hobby when appropriate, and steering them towards kits/paints to purchase. Really lousy at maintaining any degree of customer loyalty, but little managers can do to disobey corporate without being replaced. Their stores seem way better when corporate policies are ignored.