and a rules query came up. Although in the end it had no bearing on the game as I had no intention of charging them anyway but how do Gnoblar Trappers affect the Iron Daemon?
The guy I was playing said that anything charging the trappers has to take a difficult terrain test and will die on a fail. The Iron Daemon ignores difficult terrain tests for any obstacle smaller than its wheels (which Gnoblars most certainly are).
He said that gnoblars aren�?Tt an obstacle so the rule can�?Tt be ignored. I didn�?Tt look at the book or the rule but took what he said at face value and let it go resolving to not charge them with anything in the game.
The guy I was playing said that anything charging the trappers has to take a difficult terrain test and will die on a fail. The Iron Daemon ignores difficult terrain tests for any obstacle smaller than its wheels (which Gnoblars most certainly are).
He said that gnoblars aren�?Tt an obstacle so the rule can�?Tt be ignored.
Vogon
Regrettably I'd have to agree with your opponent's analysis. The Iron Daemon can ignore dangerous terrain test for obstacles, but it's not just obstacles that can be dangerous terrain - marshes, forests and rivers for example, are all not obstacles; the ID is not immune to those, so isn't immune to Gnoblar Trappers.
Yes, I think this is silly. But then I think Trappers are silly anyway... and have done since a bad roll saw me lose three Chaos Knights to them, and only just pass the resultant Panic test. A 40 point unit (or however much they are) that you can spam due to being in Core, should not cause some of the strongest and most dangerous units in the game to fear charging them... it just makes a mockery of the whole thing. (Though perhaps I'm just upset about my Knights).
With that said, doesn't Dangerous Terrain only cause one wound, not kill outright? So the ID should be happy enough to go for it anyway. But that's only IIRC, I could be wrong.
Thanks for that I’ll have to have a look at the rule book when I get home but he was talking about a steam-tank getting killed due to this rule but as I said I wasn’t going to argue just then as I wanted a game not a rules argument.
What kind of trap could these guys make to stop an iron daemon?
If Zharr Naggrund's rail service is anything like England's, all they'd have to do is drop the wrong kind of leaves in front of it. Complete disruption for at least 24hrs.
The guy I was playing said that anything charging the trappers has to take a difficult terrain test and will die on a fail.
Vogon
tell that guy to read his book again. everything that charges the trappers takes a simple dangerous terain test.
this means that if they fail it they just suffer 1 wound.
Thanks for that guys, I’ve had a look at the dangerous terrain rules in the main rule book and agree that it’s only one wound.
Is there anything more in the Gnoblar Trappers rule? I’m wondering how the Steam Tank was killed using this rule, does it count as a chariot (and by extension will the ID)?
Or was the guy just taking advantage of an opponent not knowing the rules very well.
I dont see how it would matter wether the STank counts as a chariot or not. I dont think it said it worked as one anywhere in the book and I don’t remeber it saying it counts as a chariot either.
I'm wondering how the Steam Tank was killed using this rule, does it count as a chariot (and by extension will the ID)?
STank is nothing to do with the ID, they are completely different. It shouldn't auto-die either, though it might take D6 wounds (dunno the Empire rules that well).
Or was the guy just taking advantage of an opponent not knowing the rules very well.
Most likely. Makes you wonder why he plays the game at all.
An Iron Deamon is a “unique” unit and not a “chariot”. If it were vulnerable to Trappers (and I believe it would be) and failed a Dangerous Terrain test, I believe it would only take a single wound.
I would have charged anyway; it's just a game and to see those little creepers smashed like a mosquito would have been priceless! :)
Burske
Well in the end he took leave of his senses and charged my K'Daai with them anyway. Not sure why as being strength 2 meant with the blazing body rule the little critters couldn't touch the K'Daai anyway. They didn't survive for long :)
An Iron Deamon is a "unique" unit and not a "chariot". If it were vulnerable to Trappers (and I believe it would be) and failed a Dangerous Terrain test, I believe it would only take a single wound.
Grimbold Blackhammer
I agree with this interpretation. As an aside the Army Builder entry for the STank (not the best reference I know but it's all I have) calls it "Unique (Chariot)" which is probably how it managed to die (D6 wounds).
This is something for sure i should know, but just wanna confirm. how do you shoot the cannonade? roll the two artillery dice, then use highest, then roll to hit using the crews BS? is that right? do you suffer for -1 multiple shoots? -1 for over half distance? if your using the BS can you stand and shoot?
I agree with this interpretation. As an aside the Army Builder entry for the STank (not the best reference I know but it's all I have) calls it "Unique (Chariot)" which is probably how it managed to die (D6 wounds).
Vogon
I thought the Stank had T10 and W10, giving it D6 hits from Dterrain is logical but as it has W10 he was still cheating... (or I'm mistaken, I hope I am, but I doint think I am....)