[Archive] Iron Daemon + Charging it

grisnik:

Ok so, just got the book… YAY… and began reading the rules… but something popped up on the Iron Daemon that was curious about…

When it says that it charges directly forward, can you not pivot before that starts? Or does it have to charge straight from the direction it was last left in from the previous turn?

Asking as the rules state clearly that it just moves forward, and no turning allowed so was curious…

Follow up question… if that is true that it cannot pivot before the charge then how do people play them? Are they even worth it then and do people actually get charges in with them?

Thanks

Grimbold Blackhammer:

I believe your interpretation is correct. It charges straight forward only.

nilbog:

Page 27, BRB; a lone model cannot pivot before it charges, as per normal charging rules. So no, it only charges straight forwards.

I keep mine on the flank of another unit, or in between two units (and slightly behind, so it can’t get charged), so it can combo-charge with those units.

zhatan87:

How do you charge with it, if it charges only in straight line?..
If the opponent puts its units not straight forward, the iron daemon never charges?
The only way to charge is to counter charge a blocked unit in close combat?

In France, we have the same conclusion… Is it really unable to charge normally? (without using the steampunk?)

grisnik:

Good to know, and thats how we read it also. Makes the ID a bit less impressive with that in mind, but at the same time, on a crowded table I don’t see it having too much problem hitting something… plus at least it can use the cannons so…

Thanks for the replies…

Ohiohammer:

Good to know, and thats how we read it also. Makes the ID a bit less impressive with that in mind, but at the same time, on a crowded table I don't see it having too much problem hitting something.. plus at least it can use the cannons so..

Thanks for the replies..

grisnik
Wow! I never noticed this until coming across this discussion. This drastically changes my intented use of the ID. Thanks for the insight!