[Archive] Magic the gathering

kingeamonn:

Any tips for a new player and what would be the best cards if I was to collect a red\black deck. :hat off

Discoking:

Any tips for a new player and what would be the best cards if I was to collect a red\black deck. :hat off

kingeamonn
Are you playing Legacy?
That's the best format to play.

Da Crusha:

well Im not that good and took about a 12 year break from the game until recently. in a 60 card deck bring at least 20 lands. i’ve heard for a 40 card deck bring at least 16 creatures and 16 or 17 lands. try to use instants at the end of your opponents turn (or when applicable) to keep your mana open, this way your opponent won’t be able to feel safe. not too many more tips from me.

gashnag:

well Im not that good and took about a 12 year break from the game until recently.

Da Crusha
I know how you feel I started playing when Dark came out then stopped after Urza's Legacy. I got back in with Alara Reborn, with the current play 20 lands can be to few 23-24 is standard in 60 card decks when you can't afford to miss a land drop when most games are over some times once a player reaches 5-6 lands in play. then with creatures it all depends on your way of playing; Burn, Swarm, Beatdown, Control. Black and red are good at two of these burn and beatdown I would put in a 60 card deck 23 lands 21 creatures and 16 other. creature wise try to shy away from anything that is higher than a 5 drop and for every two 1-2 drop creature put a 3-4 drop and for every two 3-4 drop creature put a 5 than should give you twelve 1-2 drops six 3-4 drops and three 5 drops leaving you with 16 cards to put burn and spot removal to clear the way for your creatures these 16 cards are best used for cards like Flames of the Firebrand which can deal 3 damage divided however you like among creatures and players, Dreadbore which can kill any creature or planeswalker for one mana of both read and black, Rakdos Charm which has three effects to choose from. Wit