[Archive] Problems with Ogres

Halfblood:

So im pretty new with CD, I just love the models. Recently I have been playing against a pretty competitive Ogre list.

His List looks a bit like this:

-Gut Star

- MournFangs

- LeadBeltchers

- 2 Iron Blasters

- Usually brings a Slaughter Master

We play 2,500 what tools should I bring to help beat ogres?

bigdark:

Here is an Ogre Kingdoms player describing a game -

http://www.ogrestronghold.com/forum/index.php?topic=22628.0

In their forums they frequently talk about all factions playing them.

There are a few YouTube videos as well.

Looks like K’Daai Destroyer is your first choice.

French_noodle:

I would say Death spells to kill the Army Standard Bearer if any, 2 Deathshrieker rocket launcher to stop the ironblasters, and then 2 Hellcanons to make all of them panic.

Ogres Leadership is most of time 8 or 7.

nicque-ta-mare:

A Blunderbuss horde with flaming banner or Magma Cannon supported by Lore of Hashut Sorceror prophet are good counters to GutStar I think. Metal Sorceror is good counter for Mournfang. Wolfriders in the flank of an ironblaster should do well (Almost certain Rhinox can’t attack to the flank, in which case you both do 1 wound on average so you win by 3; charge, flank, backstabbers).

+1 for K’daai destroyer

Blackspine:

Here’s the thing.

His cannons will out shoot your artillery any day of the week. It’s more accurate.

I’d suggest two hell cannons as they now have a 5+ ward. Magma cannons are clutch v ogres, and can really dish out the wounds on the ogres.

Not sure if HC’s can move and shoot now.

If the cannons are shooting at your K’daai, then they’re not shooting at your WM’s. Your K’daai can just wipe the mournfang from the map.

Lore of Hashut is great v ogres. Lower their leadership. d6 s6 their Kitties. Ashstorm, Initiative tests everything.

Maybe a lvl 2 death to snipe cannons in magic as you move forward. Their cannons are ALWAYS out on the flanks.