Yep, Per the"T" Book depending on the number rolled by the artillery dice (highest of the two), thats how many you roll to try and hit
sorry can’t help with the Lore of Hashut … yet as haven’t really got into a deep read of it or even tried to use it yet. Tonight is our clubs monthly games night and just my luck instead of working, my daughters having her 18th B’day party so I miss out again. At least there’s beer involved.
I have my own query. as per the pictures at forge world, Is that the only place the coal shoveler sits properly? cause I can’t get mine to sit right.
It can’t pivot and move 6" into an enemy, as it has to stay 1" away from other units (BRB page 13). The only time it can “accidentally” charge is if it moves 6+2D6" and contacts an enemy without declaring a charge. Even then it has to be straight ahead.
Basically, it moves normally if its moving 6", but if it moves faster, or charges, it’s in a straight line. Remember units can’t pivot before charging (otherwise there would be no point having a charge arc, and keeping things out of it).
a. Since it cannot wheel or turn during a �?~charge�?T, does this mean that when it contacts a unit it does not �?~close the door�?T and the unit �?~closes the door instead�?T. The reason I�?Tm asking this is that the �?~closing of the door�?T is specified as a wheel.
b. It can happen that the Iron Daemon is in a position whereby it is in the front arc of a unit, but if it moves straight ahead, it contact only the flank of the unit. Normally this means that the chargers stop 1�?� away from the enemy and the charge is failed. Does the Iron Daemon follow the normal rule or does the special movement rule over-ride the rules
This is Forgeworld’s reply:
From: Tris Buckroyd
Sent: 20 December 2011 11:02
The intention with the Iron Daemons�?T movement with regard to charges is that if it makes contact with an enemy unit then the normal rules apply for combats and the Iron Daemon is allowed to close the door. This is the only time that the model is allowed to wheel. When Charging the Iron Daemon must make contact with the facing of the charged unit that it started in otherwise it counts as a failed charge.
If you roll a double 1 you fail. Also if you don’t contact the charged unit you just move 2D6 inches forward.
To be honest, I could live with the charging issue if they changed the Thunderstomp to grinding attacks (or all it to Thunderstomp everything). It should be unstoppable…whereas at it now stands an eagle or a cavalry model will pin it down.
Why didn't they just give it that, but say it can't pivot before moving?
It's me, or the iron daemon is not so easy to play?... Especially the skull cracker version which should not see so many fights with such a rule?...
The steam cannonade (and the iron daemon version) seems to be a good investment now... At least, it can fire, the time to be right placed for a counter charge (provided that the opponent doesn't move its own units, or the target is locked in hand to hand:)...)
I have only recently gotten an Iron Daemon and I must say I love the model, it is easily one of my favourites (except for the chains around two sets of wheels… Damnation…).
However, it does seem quite tricky to use, though it is no doubt effective (except when facing off against light cavalry/warmachine hunters). To me it seems like it is a second wave charger: hit anything that is already in close combat and you’re bound to really whittle them down - especially if you use the Skullcracker variant!
Anywho, I echo whoever said Daemonsmiths should be able to be mounted on Iron Daemons… It would be insanely powerful since it would no longer have trouble fighting the beforementioned light cavalry/warmachine hunters! A man can dream…
@Ragnarov: No, since the eagle is a Monstrous Beast you cannot Thunderstomp. However, you do get 3 WS4 S3 attacks !! So the unstoppable Iron Daemon costing 300+ pts (with upgrades) is pinned down by a 50pt eagle…awesome!!