[Archive] question Indy GT: daemon engines

klemanius:

I played a game with some friends today and they were under the impression that daemon engines were monsters first and warmachines second, thus could only fire in their front arc?

Is this totally wrong as I suspect or are they right?

Thommy H:

You can only have one unit type. If they follow the same rules as the Hellcannon, they’re Monsters.

klemanius:

What I meant was that I’ve always considered them warmachines for the purposes of shooting.

having looked at the rulebook more closely since I first posted I see that probably isn’t the case.

However that means that the daemon weapons won’t be able to pivot in the movement phase as a warmachine does, but also not have the move or fire or slow to fire rules that warmachines have. Thus a deathrocket could move 6" and fire or be charged and stand and shoot with its missile.

This seems a bit absurd to me.

Thommy H:

They follow all the shooting rules for a war machine (so they’re move or fire and Slow to Fire) but they move like any other Monster. So they can’t pivot and then shoot. At least that’s how I play the Hellcannon.

klemanius:

I assumed as much.

This message was automatically appended because it was too short.