[Archive] Unfinished Modular Castle

dncswlf:

Here is a castle I started while I worked as a master Carpenter for a theater.  PLenty of access to lots of free scrap.  Most of the castle is built out of 2" foam, I cut the crenellations using a band saw.  The main keep is made from foam, plywood, cardboard tubes, and bendy-board.  I intend to make a main hinged type gate that will actually open… eventually.  I also will put on some detail work as it looks rather drab.  I have 2 different kinds of tower, a second main (rear) gate  and over 8 feet of wall!  I made corner pieces which I did not photo, and several different stair units for the insides, as well as smaller wall sections, and ruined wall sections.  This is a non-denominational castle…  I didn’t make it with any specific race in mind…

[attachment=1899]

Here is a close up of the main keep

[attachment=1900]

Here is the back of the main keep… overlooking the inside of the castle.  I imagine the throne room to be here, and a giant metal plate would slide in place to cover the window in the event of a breach in the castle wall to help maintain defense!

[attachment=1898]

Here is a pic of a ruined wall section replacing a wall…  once a seige is underway and it has been destroyed!

[attachment=1901]

Here is the smaller main gate with the portcullis detail…  this came out pretty good.  My plan is to create a giant skull with an open mouth.  The top of the tower has a whole cut into it where defenders can pour boiling oil and it would pour out of the skull’s mouth onto anyone attempting to break into the rear door.

Balseraph:

Wow :slight_smile: Cool work :slight_smile:

Imo,try to take the places of clearances of bricks. Or repaint it so that it was made from stone blocks

Now looks a bit too sterile - as Bretonian castle :slight_smile:

Dino:

Now this looks really sweet. One of the most creative castles i’ve seen. That reminds me I need to finish my lizardmen fort.

Zanko:

Great stuff dude! :cheers