[Archive] 3D sculpting blog

Grimstonefire:

Not really sure which section this should go in actually…

Anyhow, I recently bought:

Autodesk® 3ds Max® 2011

Autodesk® Maya® 2011

Autodesk® Softimage® 2011

Autodesk® MotionBuilder® 2011

Autodesk® Mudbox�"� 2011

For a complete beginner this probably wasn’t the best purchase…  Maya and 3Ds Max are industry standard 3d design and animation packages so are rediculously complex to learn.

I’m going to try and keep a blog here of anything that ends up being fairly good.

To get things started, a Chaos Dwarf.

Sculpting the beard was incredibly hard, so not yet.

The ends of the trousers were really hard as well, also the feet… Not bad for a first attempt though.

zobo1942:

Great start on your chaos dwarf - keep up the good work!

Do you find that your physical sculpting skill makes virtual sculpting easier or harder? I’ve heard from many people that it helps quite a lot, much in the same way that people who know how to draw, etc… are better at creating computer models. A friend of mine, who worked in the gaming industry, used 3d modelling software extensively, and the funny thing was how close her virtual models resembled her freehand work.

A lot of people think that learning how a software package works will result in turning one into an artist or animator - it’s how a lot of technical colleges (become an 3D animator!, etc…) get people to enroll.

Grimstonefire:

Yes, I think it does. Mainly for anatomy though (as I haven’t really tried much else).

Once I get better with maya I should be able to create a decent CD mesh to get me started. I made a staircase thing as well, but it didn’t import properly into mudbox.

Kered:

I’v never used 3d max but I would sujest you at least have a look a zbush which is what I’v used in the past. I’m looking forward to seeing more.

zobo1942: