[Archive] Army List Help

King Rob the IV:

I have been playing for many years now, and have decided to try a new army and why not some lovably warped dwarves :slight_smile:

I have the army book, but no units as of yet, but will be buying the Demonsmith 3 pack…like today, so my question for anyone that wants to help is; what models should I buy and what kind of army list should I make. I will really only be playing friendly games (nothing competitive) against High Elves, Wood Elves, Empire and Lizardmen (very little to no magic for these armies). I�?Tm looking for 1000, 1500, and 2000 point armies. The models don�?Tt have to be the similar in any of the lists as money is not a problem (thank you Christmas :)).

I�?Tm looking to buy from Forge World, but I can make minor conversions with puddy in addition I�?Tm open to buying parts from other sites (if you guys have any suggestions), but I would prefer to stick to FW models if possible.

The units that are the most agreed upon will be bought and hopefully will have something playable in the next month or two.

In addition thank you for any help and Happy New Year!

-King

Grimbold Blackhammer:

Starting a new army is always exciting!  But I’m going to tell you what you don’t want to hear first - people complain about Chaos Dwarfs.  We have really great options and really poor ones with few in the middle.  And people tend to only remember the models that beat them down =(  The other complaint is fairly simple…they’d like to see a Chaos Dwarf army that has actual Chaos Dwarfs in it!  We have one Core choice and one Special choice for Dwarfs.  And while the Core unit is good, the Special choice isn’t.  And they’re both REALLY expensive points-wise so if you want to actually have a decent amount of Dwarfs in your list, you won’t have much else.