[Archive] Blunderbusses

Rattler:

I’m very new to FB, so excuse me if I screw things up way out of proportion.

Okay, so I’ve read the rules for the blunderbuss, and I understand that it is basically fired like a 12" long template that’s as wide as the front rank and hits on 4s.

So, I only have 10 models to use as blunderbuss troops ATM. So if I put 4 in the front 2 ranks, and 2 in the back rank, is the strength of the shot 5? (2 complete ranks, a partial rank of 2)

Also, I had a question on hits with the blunderbuss. I understand that you roll for all of the models in the “fire zone”. Take this for example:

I have one rank of 4 blunderbuss troops facing 100 evil stickmen (who are all within 12" range). I’m going to shoot. I would then roll 100 dice with 4s to hit, at strength 3.

Now, if I were to have 2 ranks of 4 blunderbuss troops (twice as many), I’d still only shoot 100 shots, but at strength 4?

That just doesn’t seem very right to me, if 4 blunderbuss troops can fire as many shots as eight…but the rules don’t really specify. I don’t see anything particularly about rolling for each individual unit…but I’m not really sure how it all works out.

Thanks for your help.

EDIT: Oh, and sorry if this in the wrong section.

Sobek:

You have to have a rank of 4 or more to get the rank bonus to strength, so in your example, they would be strength 4 shots.

Blunderbuss’s don’t fire shots, they fire shrapnel, grapshot, multiple pellets, etc… they don’t fire a single “shot” hence the template. The Strength bonus immitates the extra shrapnel or flak or what have from the other Blunderbuss’s being added to the original. So instead of a thin cover of sharp bits coming at you, you have a thicker cover that pieces in more places.

Edit: Blunderbuss’s in the real world were sometimes loaded with multiple pellets of lead, and then shot. They did this because the wide muzzel of the blunderbuss, while making it easy to load, decreased the accuracy of single shots.

Rattler: