[Archive] Casting (only your self-made) miniatures

phierlihy:

I didn’t want to derail other folk’s threads so I’ll start it here.

I live in San Diego and stumbled across this San Diego company which I took it as an obvious sign from Hashut.  In speaking with the owner, they do mostly internet sales so feel free to order online.  I am quite pleased with their product lines.

http://www.jgreer.com/videos/index.htm

I’ve made a dozen or so molds so far.  My first few molds turned out to be junk and I’m not too proud to admit I’m still learning.  But over all, it isn’t too hard once you figure out the little things.

There are quite a few other companies out there that provide casting materials.  I’m hoping my fellow casters will share what they know and reviews of some of the other products out there!

Phil

Fallen246:

Do they ship internationally, do you know?

Nicodemus:

I use Alumilite casting materials and resins and had good results with them. I cast a number of Warhammer Quest doorways ages ago after contacting GW about it… their response from their legal department was that it’s “probably” OK, provided it was for my own in-home use only and not for sale. I’m sure that was a regular customer service person who messaged me and just couldn’t get a straight answer from legal other than “he’s really not supposed to be doing that with any models”, etc.

I know casting is (or can be) part of the hobby and there are slight grey areas when casting GW IP - i.e. an important weapon or other piece broke off a model before a comp. and you need a replacement ASAP, so casting one and painting it back up to the original standard may be cirtical… but GW still won’t support it and their legal dept can only recommend you make your own models or replacement parts from scratch.