[Archive] Chalice of Darkness. How useful?

Schlanger:

Hello! I’m interested, how exactly chalice of darkness works?

It is not one use only, it is indestructible, and I can use it to dump his dispel dice in my magic phase, and dump his power dice in his magic phase? Is it so?

Loki:

I think how it works like this, both sides have D3 dice removed from their magic pool, and they are just lost,

I will be using this in my army as i think its a great little thing to just throw at people i will be also be taking Mork’s spirit totem for my unit of black orcs which gives you a dispel dice for each rank that you have :hat

so if i roll a 5 or 6 on the D3 and we both loses 3 dice for that magic phase i get mine back from the banner and the ranks very nasty and very cool

Hashut’s Blessing:

It works by removing D3 of your power dice and their dispel dice in YOUR magic phase (probably the more powerful time to use it as you should have more PD then they have DD). Alternatively, it can be used in THeir magic phase and remove D3 of their power dice and your dispel dice.

It’s not indestructible as there are some items/spells etc that can destroy magic items.

Schlanger:

It states: "remove D3 dice from both player’s magic pools"

It’s my misunderstanding of english language, that confuses me. Does the word “both” refers to “player” or to "magic pools"

Magic pool is a word that may mean both casting and dispel pools. As far as I understand it.

Because removing enemy’s cast dice AND your dispel dice, as well as removing enemy’s dispel dice AND your cast dice does not make sense. Usually dispel dice are fewer in numbers than casting dice, but dispel dice are used not so often, because the opponent may fail to cast. If u just loose equal amount of dice, you don’t change the situation. You may just imagine that he casted spell which you dispelled with the equal amount of dice.

Besides, taking dice from “both pools”, and not from “both players” makes sense.

Hashut’s Blessing:

Because removing enemy's cast dice AND your dispel dice, as well as removing enemy's dispel dice AND your cast dice does not make sense. Usually dispel dice are fewer in numbers than casting dice, but dispel dice are used not so often, because the opponent may fail to cast. If u just loose equal amount of dice, you don't change the situation. You may just imagine that he casted spell which you dispelled with the equal amount of dice.

Schlanger
This is how it is used. You use it in your turn to remove your own power dice AND their dispel dice for that turn. If you use it in their magic pahse, you remove you dispel dice AND their power dice for that turn.

As I said, it's best to use in your turn as they will likely have less dispel dice than you have power dice, meaning you might make them run out of dispel dice, whilst you can still cast. In reverse, it;s only any good if they have a high casting level that requires multiple dice and you remove some of them (making it less likely or impossible to cast that spell) or if they have less power dice than you have dispel dice (for some reason, like later in the game once you've taken out a mage or two).

Hope that helps.

cornixt:

Also, since it only takes from the pools, if you roll a 3 on the D3 it can take a maximum of 2 dice from your power dice but the full 3 from your opponent’s dispel pool (assuming he has at least one wizard or some other way of getting dispel dice). Dispel dice are nearly always in the pool (with a couple of exceptions at most I think) but power dice usually are not (except for the basic two you get for just being there).

Ancient History:

Worth keeping in mind with the new Dark Elves magic rules you could actually be doing your opponents a favor by draining some Power Dice.

Da Crusha:

I think how it works like this, both sides have D3 dice removed from their magic pool, and they are just lost,
I will be using this in my army as i think its a great little thing to just throw at people i will be also be taking Mork's spirit totem for my unit of black orcs which gives you a dispel dice for each rank that you have :hat

so if i roll a 5 or 6 on the D3 and we both loses 3 dice for that magic phase i get mine back from the banner and the ranks very nasty and very cool

Loki
wait,:o can Chaos Dwarfs bring Orcs and Goblins magic items? or just banners? Is this an official rule, Tournament legal, or a house rule?

Da Crusha:

I used it once when I knew I was gonna play against a magic heavy army and I wasn’t planning on bringing much magic. I didn’t like it much because I often found myself without any dispel dice and he still had a handful, to top it off I also couldn’t dispel anything after that, so he was able to get off any spells without opposition, provided that he rolled high enough to cast it.

cornixt:

wait,:o can Chaos Dwarfs bring Orcs and Goblins magic items? or just banners? Is this an official rule, Tournament legal, or a house rule?

Da Crusha
Officially, Black Orcs and Big 'Uns can only take the banners in the CD list. No models in the CD army can take O&G items.

Da Crusha:

wait,:o can Chaos Dwarfs bring Orcs and Goblins magic items? or just banners? Is this an official rule, Tournament legal, or a house rule?

Da Crusha
Officially, Black Orcs and Big 'Uns can only take the banners in the CD list. No models in the CD army can take O&G items.


cornixt
ok:~, thanks