[Archive] Chaos Dwarfs (LoA) vs Empire

Nicodemus:

Post your tactics and advice here.

Miasma:

Another of my most common opponents, I have been playing against The Empire for roughly 16 years both with Orcs and Goblins and Dwarfs, he generally runs an Aggressive Empire Combined Arms list (will try and work out what he runs and maybe post it up here) with no Demigryph Knights as he hates the models and has not found something that he likes to look of (so far)

It´s hard to think up of real game winning tactics to be honest. Usually it´s just a really intense slog

I generally fight quiet defensive at the start of the games and kill as much as possible before hand to hand as The Empire has a good punch on the first round of combat, after that the CD superior WS, Armour and T should carry the day once the attrition stage is met. Firstly it´s important to get your match-ups right. For instance, his Greatswords kill my GW Warriors because they both had great weapons and strike Simultaneously. I switched to Hand Weapons, Shield and Razor Banner for extra durability (will try Blunderbusses next game). They strike before the GS, hit on a 3 and wound on a 3. The GS hit on a 4, wound on a 3 but you will have a save and a parry. Probability alone says you should beat them if you have a 20 to 25 strong unit. Give them stubborn as well.

Against the halberdiers I use a bus unit of about 30 Hobgoblins, again with HW/S. These are basically just to tie them down. If they survive the 1st round, they are very unlikely to break and again the longer the fight goes on the more chance your superior saves (and Parry!) should prevail.

Warrior priests. My mate uses one in almost every unit. Kill them as quickly as possible before they get to use hatred or else whittle the unit down to where hatred isn´t an issue or attempt to dispel the Prayer. Remember, only rank and file troops benefit from the priests hatred, not characters in the unit.