[Archive] Chaos Dwarven Artillery, and being a good sport

Glimpse the Void:

My question is, have you guys had experiences in which you found you brought to much artillery and it made it difficult for your opponent to have fun? I play these games casually, and don’t necessary worry about winning and loosing, so long as fun is had on both sides. This being said, between the annihilators and other template weapons, we can throw in a crazy amount of fire support. This is one of the aspects I find most attractive about the army.

I am just beginning to tinker with building army list, and I ask you guys with experience what you guys think about this. How big of a consideration is this? Does it matter at all? Did you guys find that there was a line that your opponents consider cheesy for you to cross with your artillery?

I just wanted to get some opinions about this while I’m still in the planning stage, as opposed to after I have bought and converted models.

Thanks for your input.

Khaosbeardling:

I’ll weigh in and say that you should be somewhat careful. The way I see it is that it’s better to win a battle by not being a huge cheese, like bringing too much artillery or doing full khornate. I think that you shouldn’t try and be heavy on any one thing yet that can be hard for CD generals to do.

That all being said there is only so much we can do with the list(s) we have available and that alone should make most people see that you really aren’t trying to bring the cheese.

that guy: