Firstly please forgive this potentially derpy question…
I’ve fielded the deathshrieker in 2 battles now and read and re-read its rules a number of times. Neither myself nor any of my gaming group regularly plays with cannons so im finding it hard to fathom how to use this WM correctly.
Could anyone be so kind to give me some pointers on its correct usage. I hear a lot of people saying its damn good for its points so perhaps im using it wrongly but frankly, i just cant see it. The Tamurkhan rules are unnecessary wordy and dont make it easy to decipher (imo)
Further more im equally confuddled by the Demolition Rocket it can use also.
It is very easy to use I shall now explain how to use both methods. First just so it is clear the large template is a flaming round, the solid slug demo rocket is not.
Now how to fire them. The soild slug aka Demo rocket is the simple one so it first.
Place a marker (I find a converted round 40mm base of a rocket hitting the ground to be ideal) on the target, not literally or your opponent might get hacked off that your putting things on his minis. Roll scatter and arty dice if it hits it is resolved right there, arrow goes however far in that direction, misfire check the chart and roll. If you have a engineer within 3inches of the rocket launcher then you may re-roll either dice ONCE. If you hit something then resolve as follows. St8 D6 wounds, if you hit a multi part model roll to resolve against only the hit part, in most cases it will be 1-4 monster/mount 5-6 rider.
Now the not so simple shot the.
Place the larger 5 inch template over your target. Roll the scatter and art dice, if you roll a misfire check the chart and roll. If you roll a hit resolve right there. If you roll an arrow and the template misses the target at all(meaning not a single model is under it anymore), and its new scatter location does not hit something else. If you have BOTH of those conditions met then roll the scatter and arty dice one more time. This time placing the small 3 inch template over a target. If this rolls a misfires or a misses completely then remove the round as nothing has happened. Again if you have a engineer within 3 inches of the rocket launcher you may correct any arty or scatter dice once. Bare in mind you could wait for it to miss with the 5inch template and reroll one of the dice on the 3 inch template.
Scatter as normal with Artillery and Scatter Dice. If after scattering the center of the template is not touching a unit (not any part of the template, just the center!) Then you roll just the artillery dice again. the template is moved that far towards the nearest unit, whether friend or foe, once moved to the new location, place the template becomes a 3" template and you see if it hits anything.
Note: the second roll of the Artillery dice does not cause a misfire, it just means the rocket is wasted.
As stated by Geist, the other rocket is a non template, single model targeter, if, after scattering, its not on top of a target, it harmlessly goes pop.
St8 D6 wounds, if you hit a multi part model roll to resolve against only the hit part, in most cases it will be 1-4 monster/mount 5-6 rider.
Geist
This is not totally correct. As per FAQ the Demolition Rocket counts like a hit from a cannon when hitting a multi-part model.
So both, rider and mount take a S8 D6 hit... and that's what makes it so scary :hat off
...As per FAQ the Demolition Rocket counts like a hit from a cannon when hitting a multi-part model.
So both, rider and mount take a S8 D6 hit... and that's what makes it so scary :hat off
DD
deadlydeceiver
Scary indeed, I always like to try and fit in a couple of these babies.
Most people prefer the MC but I am a stone thrower fan.
St8 D6 wounds, if you hit a multi part model roll to resolve against only the hit part, in most cases it will be 1-4 monster/mount 5-6 rider.
Geist
This is not totally correct. As per FAQ the Demolition Rocket counts like a hit from a cannon when hitting a multi-part model.
So both, rider and mount take a S8 D6 hit... and that's what makes it so scary :hat off
DD
deadlydeceiver
Hi All,
Sorry to open up an old post, however this seemed to be the right post.
Couple of questions relating to the Deathshrieker Rock:
1. Do they shoot like a Cannon or a stone thrower?
2. Do they need line of sigh?
I played a Lizardmen player, whom advised you cannot shoot cannons over your troops and required a clear line of sight or be classed as a large target.
The Death Shrieker shoots similar to a stone thrower. But the rules state that the marker has to be placed “completely within the war machine�?Ts line of sight, outside of the Deathshrieker�?Ts minimum range and within its maximum range.”
So no indirect firing!
However, hits caused by demolition rockets are resolved like a hit from a cannon ball (hitting all parts of a multipart model).
If you take a look at the forgeworld model you can easily see, that the crew and the rockets are in an elevated position compared to the height of our infantry. So that firing from behind your line of defence is totally legal.