[Archive] Helmet/Mask construction

craigisnutter:

hi guys,

I’ve watched the various Dwarf conversion videos. Very useful and very well explained in great detail.

I’ve just been taking a look at the bitz catalogue and im liking the look of the ‘tactical squad shoulder pads number 2’, basically, they have the arrow pointing up design and im wondering how easy you guys think it would be, to convert a standard BFSP dwarf, to use these shoulder pads as helmets and wether i should mask them up aswell??

would they work with just a beard conversion and this helmet conversion im thinking of??

Sorry if this sounds very untechnical…but i am a noob lol

Khan!:

Well, I think space marine shoulder pads will be far too big on their own to be helmets. You could try trimming them down around the tactical arrow, but it seems like too much work to me. What about cutting out arrow shaped bits of green stuff, letting them dry around a slightly curved surface, and using these cured gs arrows as the basis of your helmets? You could probably make them size-appropriate, and its not too hard to make rectangle/triangle shapes if you aren’t sculpting ON to the miniature itself.

craigisnutter:

cool, thx for the advice.

What about open faces?? would they work with a full beard resculpt? or would it be far too difficult/awkward to convert a standard dwarf face to CD?

GRNDL:

What about open faces?? would they work with a full beard resculpt? or would it be far too difficult/awkward to convert a standard dwarf face to CD?

craigisnutter