[Archive] Iron Daemon - Movement

KramDratta:

So, I’ve just had a game where a question came up that I could not find an answer to, so I decided to ask you guys for how to resolve this.

A unit of marauder horsemen moved on the flank of the Iron Daemon & swift reformed in a conga line 1" away from the side. When it came to my movement phase, I went to move it sideways & then pivot, but my opponent told me that sideways movement prevents you from pivoting.

Did we play it right?

khedyarl:

Page 27. "They move, wheel, and march just like a larger unit. The one exception is that a single model CAN pivot on the spot as many times as it wishes over the course of its move. It can do so without penalty, and so pivoting does not prevent models from marching, or even from shooting later in the turn."

So, basically, there is no rule stating that you can’t do sideways movement while pivoting, but if he is still being an absolute ass-hat, and insists that you are generating additional movement by manipulating the mini around, you are still allowed to wheel - which is done from the right or lefthand corner of the mini. And wheeling a single model is pretty easy.

So, next time the guy’s being a jerk, wheel the daemon around and blast the horseman full of lead.

nilbog:

Presumably you would not end up moving more than 3" (half it’s movement) away from where you started? If that’s the case, there’s nothing stopping you from moving sideways and pivoting.

Why did he not just charge it with his horsemen? Did he forget and then decide to make up this spurious ruling to cover his back?

KramDratta:

To be fair it was the first time we were trying the model so we were both unsure on how to proceed. I was unsure of wheter the warmachines movement rules still applied, since it is classed as unique.

Re charging it, he needed it to be pinned down for a turn, until he couold gateway my destroyer :frowning:

Grimbold Blackhammer:

Actually I think your opponent had it correct. If what I’m picturing in my head is correct, he made a line along the flank of the engine so that you could not pivot. The idea being pivoting would bring you within 1" of his unit which is not allowed.

Chariots do not move sideways nor backwards so I believe his trying to force you to only move forward is valid. I do recall an FAQ (that I can’t find…) about chariots pivoting through the board edge and other units being allowed but I don’t recall the specific wording. If I stumble across it, that may help clear it up.

Grimbold Blackhammer

KramDratta:

BRB FAQ v1.5

Troop Types

Q: Can a Chariot move backwards and sideways? (p86)

A: Yes. It can still only do one or the other each time it moves however.

nilbog:

Horsemen should be able to hold it up indefinitely, not just for one turn.

KramDratta:

Horsemen should be able to hold it up indefinitely, not just for one turn.

nilbog
Yes but the greedy git wanted to get the points for it next turn ;)

khedyarl:

Hrm. I’d never seen that FAQ, thanks, Kram.

That would appear to fix that situation, then. The model can move sideways far enough away from the horseman, then pivot {since a single mini may pivot as many times as it wants during its move}.