[Archive] Kickstarter: Customizable 3D Printed Tabletop Miniatures

Sticklander:

Kickstarter: Hero Forge Customizable 3D Printed Tabletop Miniatures

Discovered this fantastic, and really interesting kickstarter today.

They’re developing a programme to customise your own fantasy/sci-fi miniature (in “heroic scale” 28mm, 3", and 6"). Then they’ll have it printed and sent to you.

As they put it themselves, ‘Whether you want to create stranger fare (good luck finding a dual-wielding halfling barbarian mini), capture key details (no one should be forced to make compromises on their dwarf�?Ts beard style), or simply have more say in your mini than just the paint job, Hero Forge is for you!’

What’s everyone’s take on this? Any thoughts?

I backed it just to have the opportunity to have my own unique miniature printed, and to just back such an interesting project!

GDD:

If I had money for a 3d printer that awesome I’d do the same thing!

I’m so jealous!

(I am a 3d Graphics artist)

Thommy H:

'Whether you want to create stranger fare (good luck finding a dual-wielding halfling barbarian mini)...'

From Hasslefree.

Sticklander:

'Whether you want to create stranger fare (good luck finding a dual-wielding halfling barbarian mini)...'

From Hasslefree.

Thommy H
Ahaha, touche! ;)

*EDIT* Though, it appears he's from a Roman inspired range, so technically he's not a barbarian, just a very psychotic civilised Hobbit! ;p

Thommy H:

Nah, that’s only because the first fantasy halfling he sculpted was the little centurion guy, so he decided his halfling race would be called Remans.