[Archive] Magma Cannon vs Deathshrieker

Coopervisor:

I’m new to Fantasy and am planning/collecting/building my chaos dwarf force, however I’m unsure on the warmachines I should be taking.

Obviously it’s a large part of a chaos dwarf list, but should I be taking 1 of each of the special warmachines, or doubling up with a specific type? Are there diminishing returns for taking more than 2? If not, again is it best to take all as one type or a mix?

Does it depend on who I’m going to be fighting? (VC and Dark Elves are my likely opponents in the medium term)

Also to tag on to the end of this, is the special allowance better taken as a destroyer or as more warmachines?

MLP:

Magma cannons are generally regarded as being the more powerful war machine. Deathshriekers are still worth it though and have two ammo choices to choose from good versatility. I’d personally go with the models you like the look of as they’re all good in their own way.

Destroyers are a rare choice rather than special so you can have plenty war machines as well.

Coopervisor:

Magma cannons are generally regarded as being the more powerful war machine. Deathshriekers are still worth it though and have two ammo choices to choose from good versatility. I'd personally go with the models you like the look of as they're all good in their own way.

Destroyers are a rare choice rather than special so you can have plenty war machines as well.

MLP
Thanks, I was thinking maybe 1 of each to start with for variation in not only rules, but also the miniatures.

Ah my mistake, I got the special and rare mixed up! What I meant to ask was whether it is better to take the destroyer or use the rare allowance for rare warmachines like the Dreadquake?

Do Chaos Dwarves better as an all out gun line army, or do they need something hard hitting like the destroyer as well?

Bassman:

The Destroyer cannot be compared to warmachines. This big guy is a killing machine that shows no mercy to anybody :wink: