BABIS:
a simple question for all you guys,
if I activate the ID steam boiler and I move 2d6+6", can I still fire with the steam cannonade? or I can only fire when I use the normal movement of 6"?
Thanks
BABIS:
a simple question for all you guys,
if I activate the ID steam boiler and I move 2d6+6", can I still fire with the steam cannonade? or I can only fire when I use the normal movement of 6"?
Thanks
Thommy H:
You can only fire if you donât use the additional boiler movement.
zhatan87:
You can only fire if you don't use the additional boiler movement.No, new FAQ:) You can.
Thommy H:
Where does it say that? It clarifies that youâre able to move normally and fire, but the limitation on not firing if you use the additional boiler movement hasnât been lifted as far as I can see.
zhatan87:
Very sorry, confusing with all the email FAQ⌠It was an email answer from a french Ndc player :
An Iron Daemon may still shoot after it has used itâs Steam boiler. With either type of movement there is no penalty for moving and shooting but all other penalties apply.I thought it was clearly stated in the new FAQâŚ
Thommy H:
The new FAQ merely clarifies what is meant by âmay shoot without penaltyâŚâ which, as everyone had surmised, simply means it ignores the -1 to hit penalty due to moving and shooting (but still suffers other hit penalties as normal). Nothing in the answer erratas the explicit statement that it canât fire when it uses its additional boiler movement.
BABIS:
The new FAQ merely clarifies what is meant by "may shoot without penalty..." which, as everyone had surmised, simply means it ignores the -1 to hit penalty due to moving and shooting (but still suffers other hit penalties as normal). Nothing in the answer erratas the explicit statement that it can't fire when it uses its additional boiler movement.....so is there a little chance that it can fire with the steam boiler, even if it is not clearly specified anywhere?
Thommy H
Thommy H:
No, because it says in its rules you canât. You can âmove and fire without penaltyâ or you can use the boiler. You canât do both.
BABIS:
ok, thanks.
This message was automatically appended because it was too short.
zhatan87:
FW tell us iron can do it in an email. Itâs not official but itâs the way itâs played in France thanks to this email answer. Thatâs why I thought it was official.
However, before this answer, I played it like you, Thommy.
Thommy H:
I donât play it at all, but thatâs how it works in the book and none of the FAQs theyâve released overrule that. Iâd need something stronger than a second-hand e-mail trail, personally, but your community can play however they like.
Hashutâs Blessing:
Indeed, e-mail responses are 100% UNofficial and shouldnât be used as a defacto ruling. The only rules are those int he main book, superceded by army book, overruled by FAQ/errata. E-mails are just what the person responding decides within 3 seconds. A guideline or houserule, but not a rule.
Specifically stated in the âarmy bookâ and not overruled by errata/FAQ is the comment that it cannot shoot if it engages its boiler movement.
zhatan87:
Specifically stated in the "army book" and not overruled by errata/FAQ is the comment that it cannot shoot if it engages its boiler movement.For having decomposed the rule, we don't find it "so clear" and so "specifically stated"... Iron daemon rule is really bad written. That's why we asked them how it should be played.
Hashutâs Blessing:
zhatan87: It is poorly written, but it that part IS clear and specifically stated.
Hence playing it as you want or following that e-mail response being a house rule.