[Archive] Switching To Blu Ray

Pyro Stick:

Well this has been an unbelievably bad week for me with technology. First my camera breaks, then my graphics card dies and now my DVD player has finally died. All in one week. Although the dvd player was around 6 years old at least so im suprised it lasted this long considering it only cost £20 lol. Ive decided to upgrade to Blu Ray since i think it would be a bit pointless to invest in a new dvd player when they are probably going to be phased out for blu ray eventually. So im looking for help in getting something good but affordable. All the blu ray players on amazon have reviews that are putting me of each product so i have no idea what to go for as i have no blu ray experience at all.

cornixt:

I wouldn’t bet too much on Blu-ray lasting very long though, what with HD downloads and cloud storage. BD doesn’t even do 3D yet. I’d stick with getting another DVD player unless you want the whole surround sound experience and have a 45" screen.

Swissdictator:

If you’re going blue-ray you might as well get a PS3 and have more versatility.

Hashut’s Blessing:

Personally, I think Blu-Ray is likely to take at least half a century to make DVDs stop being produced, unless something revolutionary comes out. All I would say is get one that isn’t expensive and still plays DVDs as well. Something to note is that Blu-Rays often cost more than a DVD too and to fully get benefit from the extra quality, you would probably need an HD tele. HD/Blu-Ray is only noticeably better when interchanged with standard or put next to it at the same time, otherwise you won’t really notice.

Long story made short: DVD players are probably cheaper than before now and would be easier to sort out and just as good.

Sorry I can’t be any actual help.

zobo1942:

If your computer’s video card has HDMI out, and you’ve got an HDMI-in on your HDTV, there really isn’t a need for a BR/DVD player at all.