[Archive] Time to Start Collecting: My 2500pt Initial List

8-Bit Ace:

I am really excited about the chance to play some evil dwarfs.  I am pretty new to WHFB but this will be my second army already so I am enjoying myself and the local scene.

Here is the list I came up with to help me start collecting whats become available so far:

Sorcerer Prophet (Lv 4, Disp Scroll, Power Stone, Talisman of Preservation, Ironcurse Icon) = 395

Daemonsmith (Nekkid, just there for the re-roll and occasional Fireball)= 95

Dark Castellan (Armor of Bazherak, Warrior Bane, Shield, BSB )= 187

Chaos Dwarf Warriors X 40 (Blunderbuss, Shields, 2 standards) = 580

Hobgoblins Cutthroats X 10 (Shields, Bows, & command) = 67

Infernal  Guard X 28 (Ensorcelled HW, Shields, Champ, & full cmd) = 506

Hobgoblin Wolf Riders X 10 (Bows & standard) = 100

Deathshrieker Rocket Battery = 100

Dreadquake Mortar (Ogre) = 175

K’daai Destroyer = 295

I’ll have the Mortar and Rockets in back with the Daemonsmith.  Sorcerer and Castellan will be with the Infernal Guard and be my main block and should be tough as nails.  The Warriors will hang around the flanks and try to get a round of shooting in before stand & shoot.  Hobgoblin Cutthroats can guard a flank or harrass or just be cannon fodder.  The Wolf Riders are fast and can hopefully get around a flank to hunt ranged units or cancel rank bonuses from a flank or rear.  K’daai is my main hammer and I expect to to tear through anything that isn’t at least as big as it is especially with Hatred.  Oh and my Dreadquake and Rockets will try to take down the big blocks from range.

Any comments or questions?

nilbog:

I think it looks ok, but I’ll leave any comments about units to more experienced CD players. However, there are one or two things:

Sorcerer is illegal as you can only have one arcane item, so no power stone and dispel scroll.

Why the shield on the BSB? The armour can’t be improved beyond 2+. Just give him a great weapon.