[Archive] Where to start?

Immortal Scrub:

Hey all first post here so let me get some basic info in. I’ve been playing Warhammer for several years now (40k for 7, fantasy for 3) and lately my focus has been on fantasy, specifically Warriors of Chaos. After waiting for 2 months for my back-ordered copy of Tamurkhan, I got it about a month ago and immediately fell in love with CD :slight_smile:

My issue now is where should I begin assembling my army. I’ve mulled through a lot of the LoA specific posts to see what people like and what people don’t, but I’m still stuck.

What would you guys recommend taking? What do you never leave home without? What should I not go near with a 10 foot pole? Are there any magic items that are amazingly better than others? What magic lore do you prefer? Etc, etc…

Another thing that could be done although isn’t necessary is make a sticky thread that compiles all of this information. I frequent the WoC section of Librarium Online quite a bit and there is a sticky very similar to this (http://www.librarium-online.com/forums/warriors-chaos/220098-warriors-quickstart-guide.html just to get an idea of what I mean) The only reason I suggest this is because I’m seeing a lot of “New to CD” threads that could be avoided if something like this existed.

Thanks in advance guys, I’m looking forward to being a member here :hat off

JonJon:

welcome

do you like the forgeworld cds ,if you do the infernal guard and command cant go wrong there

Rickie:

If I were you I’d start out simple. Models that pretty much always will be in your list.

So for core you will almost always have one unit of infernal gaurd, just go bare bones with comand with them.

You will most likly want a demonsmith, either as a hero or lord choise.

Deathshrieker rockets and magma cannons are also nice.

A BSB castelan is something you will have to convert yourself I belive. But a nice addition.

When you get past 2k points a destroyer is nice to have.