Herohammer Fan Fic: The terror of Langue-Infirmiere

OK, this took some doing.
If anyone has the patience to have a read, these are the first 950 words out of 2500 of my first attempt at fan fiction.
I am a published author, but only articles in travel magazines and such like. Making something up out of whole cloth (if that can be said about a pastiche) and actually showing it to actual other people is a new experience…
So, for what it’s worth, here we go:

Duc D’Ennui was not in the best of moods. This year’s parade of petitioners from his fiefdom was more tedious than any he could remember. As usual, those petitioners who had bribed his advisor most handsomely were first in line. Wearing close imitations of the latest court fashion, they queued up outside the feast hall eager to bleat their cases before his Grace. The very richest had invested in skilled orators to clothe their unreasonable requests in sweet sounding words. This meant that the early cases were snappy and sometimes quite entertaining. But as the day wore on, the petitioners became poorer, and their cases grew steadily less interesting and more confusing.

“Rights to the well is given to the hamlet of Vichy on Mondays, Thursdays and Sundays and any feast days beginning with a vowel. This is my judgement.” intoned D’Ennui. The Duc leaned back in his high seat as the latest petitioner was hauled out by rough militiamen past the assembled lords and ladies. The plaintiff’s final wail trailed after the group: “But what about leap daaaays……?”
The Duc was not at all sure if his judgement on the matter had been fair or even relevant. But it had at least been clear, and that was the most important thing. It meant that he was less likely to see the petitioner again next year.

Exhaustion and boredom were written in large letters on his face as the Duc turned to Monsigneur Snivelle, his closest advisor.
“Was that the last one for today?” The Duc asked hopefully.