Introducing the hardline according to Jasko

So my name is Justus, but if you know me it’s probably as Jasko. A teacher once couldn’t read my name and was like “Jasko? Who is Jasko?” and that stuck. Was the one and only cool thing she ever did.
I was born in Cologne, Germany in 1983, which I guess makes me one of the older people here. I studied Biology in Cologne, made my PhD in genetics and spent 10 years in obesity and cancer research. But either you really hit it off and become a professor, or you leave research sooner or later. And since I didn’t have the stomach anymore (research is by nature frustrating over long periods) I decided to leave it. Currently I work at the university where we are overhauling the basic biology study course.

When I visited my best friend from Kindergarten around the mid-90’s, he had some plastic WHFB Orks and I had to know what those were. We spent some time looking through the Orks army book (I think) and I quite quickly decided I wanted to join the fun. I decided to play Dwarfs, which of course made sense opposing his Orks. Luckily Cologne had a GW (oldest one in Germany, btw) so I went there. I can still recall the emotions. I got the Dwarfs army book and devoured it. Upcoming Christmas I got the newly released 5th edition game box, the one with the Lizardmen and Bretonnians, and some Dwarfs.

Maybe a year or two later we had to build something in school for arts & crafts. I brought my Dwarf army book, since I wanted to build a forge like this one

It didn’t even turn out tooo bad, just the scale was wrong. But some of my mates (who were all building basically landscapes for their Army Men which they were in to) did have a look at my army book and were immediately hooked. They all got armies, later we all also jumped into 40k, and it went on like this for some very happy years. At the end of the 90’s, with the introduction of girls, drugs and this little thing called internet, it all ebbed away a little.