Looking to remove paint

I’m trying to “de-paint” my minis but the results have not been conclusive so far. I’m using detergent and then scraping the paint with a toothbrush, but i’m worried I might damage the minis since I have never done this before.

Any advice? Have you had to do this?

Thanks

1 Like

It depends if you are working with plastics or metals. Metals can stand up to some pretty harsh strippers that do not nice things to plastics. I ended up using castrol super clean degreaser and just soaked it for a while…like weeks once I got around to it. The paint easily flaked off. So did the glues. And the green stuff putty. Basically everything came off it except some weird green paint on a few of the figs.

I’m sure others will have their own favorite stripping juice. It’s important to know if it’s plastics safe though.

3 Likes

I use dettol and firm toothbrush and scalpel for hooking out last remnants. Works pretty well on metals. Decent on plastics that were undercoated by brushing. A little more of a challenge for black spray on undercoat.
For resin ive never tried, its so delicate id wreck it…

2 Likes

Green soap is commonly held to be a plastic friendly paint remover in combination with a toothbrush. At least in Sweden.

1 Like

Thanks everyone. :+1:

Biostrip- metal resin or plastic

Takes very little time and works every time

I swear by it now

4 Likes

Biostrip 20 Paint Stripper 500ml, Paint Remover. Water Based Solution to effortlessly Remove Paint and Varnish from Wood, Brick, Concrete, Metal, uPVC, Glass and More https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00B4WK17K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_vK9OFbF0HJZC6

3 Likes

Where are you located? In the US, you can get “LA’s totally awesome” at the dollar store, that stuff is magic and gets paint off without attacking the plastic/resin. (as others said, metal is very forgiving, just throw it into pure acetone for a couple of seconds and you’re good). Whenever I am there, a bottle or two make it back to Germany.