Original Chaos Dwarf models in digital format

There have been some courageous people trying to keep our beloved big hats alive on Cults3D, but they often get removed due to copyright issues.

What are your thoughts on printing copies of miniatures that have been off the shelves for 30 years? Here is my ideas:

I. You can always spot the real originals. No confusion to that, i.e., no value loss for collectors.

II. There is no revenue loss for GW.

III. These .STL make the otherwise unattainable figures available, keeping this part of Warhammer World alive.

I wish GW would start selling .STL of their old old ranges… But I doubt it. I am historian by trade and it saddens me to see how little appreciation these amazing old sculpts get.

Also people like Fabelzel who has done a tremendous work on his range of chorfs. Kudos to you, my good sir.

So, what’s the general consensus on “recasts” by printing? And I only mean figures long out of print. 20+ years.

1 Like

For OOP (out of production) models It’s a contentious issue for sure. Still, there’s no denying that GW still holds the copyright to the models. We here on CDO are not GW’s copyright lawyers, but we also are not in the business of enabling copyright theft. Everyone is free to post pictures of their models and nobody can expect us to verify whether each and every model is an original, nor do we care. We will, however, remove links to STLs (or black market shops) if somebody proudly proclaims he has scanned/recast a clearly trademarked model, if only to protect ourselves.

7 Likes

Of course. Just how people feel about the OOP digital renders. I really wish GW would start distributing these themselves. Would pay $$$

1 Like

God knows if they ever make a MTO run of their big hat range they will be flooded with orders. :man_shrugging:

3 Likes