[Archive] [03.09.2009] so.sad's slow developing CD blog - finally updated

so.sad:

Hello everybody,

since this is my first post I’d like to introduce myself (skip the italic part if you are not interested):

-----

I’m an mechanical engenieering student from germany, aged 21. After some time playing 40K me and some of my friends recently decided to each start playing “Fantasy” (or, in my case, come back to).

While i former played Vampires i wanted to start over. First idea was to start skaven but i figured painting a horde army (again) wasn’t was i was looking for…

So i started looking for alternatives and suddenly remembered that there was something like “Chaos Dwarfs” earlier in warhammer history.

After doing some research I found this page and while browsing the gallery I knew my new army would be chaos dwarfs.

I’m neither a painting wizard nor a very talented scratchbuilder / sculpter so please don’t expect too much…

-----

So, after my decision was taken i went to the local GW, bought a box of Dwarfen Warriors and started converting them. Now I’m starting this thread to show you what i managed to do so far and get some opinions about my results (what to improve etc.)

I plan on doing the following:

• Chaos Dwarfs

• Blunderbussers

• Bull Centaurs

• Chaos Ogres (unit fillers)

I had a little headstart on the Chaos Dwarfs, so here is what i managed to come up with:

- I sculpted a hat I will be using and made some casts:

- converted body parts (after watching xander’s great tutorial)

- converted beard / mask parts

- painted test dwarf (using skirt 2 and beard 2)

I’m not happy with his looks though, I think I’m gonna add shoulder pad’s…

looking forward to comments etc.

greetings

so.sad

Servius:

Zer Gut! Wunderbar. I like the hat and mask hybrid… keep up the good work!

wizuriel:

that looks amazing

This message was automatically appended because it was too short.

Ghrask Dragh:

I'm not happy with his looks though

so.sad
Of course your not :D