[Archive] Balance in Tamurkhan Rules?

jbrown1214:

I got into a small debate with someone on another site who claimed that FW rules are “always horrible” and that nobody would play because their models are always under-costed and over-powered. I did a bit of research on some other sites and didn’t really get this sense, but never asked here. What are your views? They strike me as fairly balanced (if a bit light on choices), but I’m not a CD expert…

Jason

aka_mythos:

CD are a case of individual units aren’t well balanced, with many having very skewed cost-to-benefit point values; some to our benefit some against. The list however is pretty well balanced by virtue of where the imbalances are, the mandatory core choices we all have to take are bit over priced. Because of that higher than reasonable Core cost from the start you’re in an uphill battle to regain cost-effectiveness, but units like the magma cannon, destroyer, and deathshrieker rockets go a long way to mitigating that. The rest of the units are pretty spot on in cost, though they can be conditional in when you’d choose to take them.

Bitterman:

FW rules had that reputation to begin with, but (whether because they thought this reputation would adversely affect sales or for some other reason, who knows) they seemed to make an effort to go in the other direction, ie. defaulting to making things slightly under-powered and over-costed.

Consensus for the LoA CDs in particular seems to be that the basic troops, at least, are overcosted. The K’daai Destroyer is somewhat controversial. Most of the rest of it seems about right.