[Archive] Chaos ADHD

Khaas:

CHAOS ADHD

KILLING IN THE NAME?
Chaos ADHD is the name of my ongoing Chaos Armies project, the name is a play on words from an album by the South American band Sepultura, who created one of my favorite metal albums in ever when they released  Chaos AD, here’s the video for one of the singles from the album Refuse/Resist. Of course, it’s a bit of self deprecating humor too since it’s a dig at how I can’t seem to focus on any one model/army for more than a few days.

The name Khaas however is a little different, almost a decade ago I started playing the World of Warcraft Beta. Initially I used the name that I had been using in Dungeons and Dragons, EverQuest, etc: Horaxe. But, I was trying to distance myself from my previous persona. I had been playing a Shaman way too long and wanted something different, eventually Wrath of the Lich King was released and I was finally able to play the Death Knight, the class I’d wanted since I heard about the MMO. I needed a new name, and it had to be good since I was planning to put a lot of time into this character.

I had a few criteria for naming characters, I wanted something simple (preferably 2 syllables or less), easy to remember, and immediately identifiable. I also wanted something that was a bit of an inside joke type of thing, as with Horaxe (the old joke being it was a combination of my two favorite things). Khaas is actually a nod to old school Dungeons and Dragons, in the Greyhawk campaign setting Kas the Bloody-Handed was the lieutenant of Vecna, until he betrayed the Liche and took both his hand and eye (which became popular artifacts in the game). So yeah, I was naming myself after a little known bamf from a paper and dice game. In the years that followed, I only encountered a handful of people who ever got the reference…

BACK TO THE TABLETOP