[Archive] [february 16:th 2010]Dawi Zharr a la Borka

Borka:

Ok it has begun. And by that I mean my chaos dwarf project. Like a year ago or something I started thinking about doing a chaos dwarf army and I really like the old big hats, so I started looking over ebay and local resources. And as you all know it’s like a swimming pool full of sharks out there and I’m still a student so it was not an option.

But then a while later I saw Xanders video linked from somewhere by Kyte and thought well I could probably do that but I wanted big hats of course.

And a few weeks ago I came upon this site after thinking about starting blood bowl and seeing the CD team and yet again realizing how cool CD are. After seeing Ishkurs work I got very motivated to start trying (I don’t think I will make as nice minis as he has but I got inspired), seeing that you can really make nice converted big hats. So I’d like to start the army blog with a thank you towards the three mentioned above probably wouldn’t have started this project if it wasn’t for them.

Now to the actual minis, this is what I’ve done so far:

I’ve decided that I’ll make 9 different big hats and try and cast them so I don’t have to make all the 60+ big hats I need for the army I have in mind. I’m gonna try first with a two part green stuff mold and if that doesn’t work out I’ll try doing heat resistent silicone molds and cast with tin.

cheers

[align=center]2017 Image Salvage

[/align]

Willmark:

While no fan of hats I will say this. These look to be an excellent start. I will be following this progress here with interest.

Also welcome to the site.

Xander:

I’d say your GS mold is doomed to fail. But these would make excellent resin casts, no doubt. Well done!

Looks like Ishkur has a disciple. :wink:

Steven:

Wow! Those are brilliant! Very nice work so far. Excellent work on the hats too. Can hardly wait to see more.

Obsidian:

Great start there mate! :

Hashut’s Blessing: