[Archive] Hobgoblin Rules Clarification

Tarrakk Blackhand:

Hi everyone!

I started playing Warhammer Fantasy again with some new people in my hobby store (Seems like every few months it starts and then stalls out again) and finally sold my last set of BFSP and the player decided to go with the Night Goblins from the set. (I traded my goblins from one of my old BFSP store demo sets with him for his Dwarfs.)

Anyway, as we were playing, we were making up 1000 point armies and his goblins were undersized, so he equiped his Goblin Spider Riders with spears and shields, as per the Wysiwyg model, but included their short bows and arrows, as well as what the goblin rules said.

Here’s my question: When I built my Hobgoblin Wolf Riders, I made them using the BFSP Spider Riders and some Chaos Hell Hounds.

As you can see, they are carrying a shield and an axe. They don’t have armour or bows.

My question is : Can I equip them to have all the options - Axe, Shield, bow and light armour (Total cost of 7 points per model), or is it simular to the Blunderbuss units where they have to take their hand weapon and shield and exchange them for the Blunderbuss?

In other words…have I been missing the potential in previous games of my Wolf Riders because I didn’t think I could fully equip them? Or was I right in that the model must be Wysiwyg?

Basically, as they stand now, they are not entirely effective in combat and often get cut to ribbons by their opponients…sometimes before they even move into attack position. (at least when I play against elves.) I think the light armour could help them out a lot, and the range would be a help too.

I wasn’t sure if this idea was legal, so please let me know, ok?

Thanx.

Tarrakk.

Bassman:

As long as I know you can equip them as you prefer. You can even load them with armor, shield and bows!

They do not even loose the light cavalry rule :wink:

Said this I think they easily become over expensive for what they do.