[Archive] My cheap-skate Chaos Dwarfs on a budget. (Working on new stuff)

Bolg:

Short intro:

I’ve been playing normal dwarfs since the start of the latest rulebook, Ive liked Chaos Dwarfs ever since they came up with the cool helmet models. But I’ve never really considered playing them because there was no real list. Now the Indy list is out and I’ve met some other CD players and I really like the idea of playing CD.

My Vanilla dwarfs are all metal and loads of old mini’s, I even have some very old CD’s who I use as unit champions and characters, so the idea came to expand my vanilla dwarfs with some real CD units so I can use my models for both armies saving me lots of money and extra painting time…

The first CD unit I wanted was the Bull Centaurs, the models are expensive and only available via sites like ebay. I’m a freelance animator/illustrator so I got time, but money is always a problem so I went to all my boxes of old minis and found 10 elven steeds (without tails, that’s why the were very cheap on ebay) and 10+ Troll Slayers. My Vanilla Dwarfs already have 20 painted Trollslayers and I never use more than 12 so I could use these.

The modeling is pretty straight forward, removing the head of the horse, shortening the legs (not really necessary but the model looks better this way) and sticking the top of the trollslayer on top, smoothing everything out with greenstuff. First I made one to see if the conversion was doable and then I did the rest of the unit. I stuck some shields on the side of the models and made sure I had all the weapon options so depending on with models are in the front row the have aditional/great wepons (with shields). 2 models got an extra chaos weapon so I can use those as unit champion and hero. This also works great with the overal theme of my army of mainly CD unit champions.

I only had 2 old plastic chaos weapon arms so I used the shoulder pads as well as some extra armour.