[Archive] New Army: Brainstorm with me

TheVoice:

Hello. I’ve not been active in the Chaos Dwarf online community of late, principally because I temporarily dropped out of warhammer, and also because my chaos dwarf army had stopped growing. However, now I would like to leech off the collective genius of the CD community, if I may.

My current CD army is being retired. Its a (rather large), completely orthodox bighat CD army painstaking accumulated over ebay. It contains very few conversions and, tactically, won most of its games but in a dull manner. Positioning overwhelmingly superior artillery behind ranks of CD warriors and blunderbuss gets old.

However, I’m setting off for uni after the summer and it seemed an ideal time to collect a new army. I wanted something that offered more modelling opportunities (I’m new to greenstuff) and would be slower to collect so I didn’t fall behind on painting. Not wanting to move away from my beloved chaos dwarfs, I’ve come up with the following theme.

On an old map of the CD Empire (showing an awful lot more cities than we will probably possess when returned) the CDs have two settlements on the Dragon Isles, far to the south. Consulting my brother’s Lizardmen army book, I found these to be the home of degenerated and primitive lizardmen. So, a chaos dwarf colonial army sounded fun. And I would welcome any ideas people have for units.

The army has to be tactically different to the regular CD army. Heavy artillery is impossible to move around the jungle, so the Earthshaker and Hellcannon are out. I’m also pretty sure wolves don’t thrive in jungles, so hobgoblins will need some alternative means of transportation (I’m currently thinking of Horned Ones). The army is going to be themed around the Hellcannon crewmen, as they’re more practially dressed for jungle warfare.

So, does anyone have any ideas? I’m interested both in ‘counts as’ alternations and conversions, and new units people might have.

Salutations!:hat off

GRNDL: