New old guy from NH, USA

Hello all,

I’ve been collecting minis off and on for many years, and recently started feeling the nostalgic pull of the metal Oldhammer minis of my youth. I’ve always liked the Chaos dwarves, particularly the original mutated, evil-helmeted variety, but I’ve gravitated more towards oldschool sci-fi than fantasy, so I’m most interested in either finding some good, preferably hand-sculpted Space Chaos Dwarf models, or kitbashing them myself, ideally a skirmish squad of around 8 to 10 highly individual figures. I figured this site would be a good place to get advice, examples, and perhaps also to get leads on short, limited runs of suitable figures that are otherwise only available via facebook, which I’m not on.

I’m not an Oldhammer purist - I just got some of Mantic’s recent hard plastic Abyssal Dwarfs, which I quite like except that I’m definitely a helmet creed person. But I have found that as the entire miniatures field goes increasingly digital, I’m valuing the look of hand-sculpted minis more and more, and after years of avoiding metal completely in favor of plastic, I’m now back to mostly working with the kind of metal minis I painted as a teen way back when.

Anyhow, glad to be here, and thanks for having me!

22 Likes

Welcome to the forum!

Let us know when you start your Space Chorfs! It sounds like a great project.

As a representative and perhaps only member of the Northeast, USA contingent very happy to welcome you aboard! I’m currently in Mass but just moved out of NH and I float up to Maine frequently.

Soon us sand-people will have our own CDOffline, but in greater numbers!

Excited to see what you have planned, Chaos Dwarfs or otherwise. We’ve got lots of old school style fans here to be sure.

6 Likes

Thanks for the warm welcome, guys!

Reaver, it’s very nice to meet someone who’s somewhat local. I actually float down to Mass sometimes, as we have family there. If you ever want to trade or just have coffee, let me know.