Warcolours “One Coat” - range review

Hello all,

I recently won some paint vouchers in a CDO competition. These were redeemable at Warcolours and donated very kindly by Poison . Regulars here know that Warcolours have sponsored lots of comps here.

When redeeming my voucher I was torn between two ranges. The classic nostalgia paints and the “one coat” range. One coat ended up winning. Im a total speed painter so if I can skip the “two thin coats” step - then I will!

The paints came in a variety of bright and vibrant colours and are supplied in dropper bottles. People that use army painter, P3 and Vallejo will be used to these. I find that you waste less with these containers but I’m not enough of a fanatic to pour all my gw into droppers like some.

At first glance these bottles look similar to army painter bottles but once in your hand a few differences become clear.

1. the plastic is tougher. Less squeezable for want of a better adjective.
  2. the lid is not a typical screw cap, it’s more like the child safe ones you get on a pill bottle. I imagine this makes them less prone to spills.
  3. you can hear a rattling inside the bottle. Presumably it has some kind of ball bearing inside for mixing (I’ll get onto this next).

So something to note about this range. All paints need a good shake. But lazy painters like me can sometimes neglect this step. But these paints, you can clearly see the medium and pigment separate over time. These paints here haven’t been shook.

It’s not an issue though, because the mixing ball within each bottle makes this a simple procedure. You just must make sure you do it properly or you’ll end up with oily medium with no pigment within that kinda rolls off of the model.

Now once you have shaken the bottles, you can start using. And this is where the magical “one coat” comes into play. It’s not a gimmick - it works!