Miniature Photography Setup & Tutorial

Hello painters of the Dark Lands. Amidst recent prodding to do the thing I was virtually bullied into starting this thread. I am by no means a photography expert which will no doubt show here but maybe that gives folks encouragement that it doesn’t take much to get your Golden Hat entries in ship shape. As many lament, photos can be the most difficult part of entering the contests. We all create lovely models on this forum, it’s time to show them off properly!

To start this will mainly focus on the black backdrop style I use but I would strongly encourage anyone to add lessons learned in photography and/or share their setups in this thread to collect our knowledge here.

STEP 1: BOX
Here is a simple cardboard box with one side cut out to let in ceiling ambient light. Two of the flaps have also had windows cut in them. Those side windows were covered with white tissue paper ideally with as few wrinkles or creases as possible. This helps diffuse the light from my crappy lamps. I’m sure better lamps/bulbs would be… better?

For a while I just had black construction paper in the box for backdrop. It works okay, but could be better. Results look like the below image. You could certainly stop here for the dirt cheap easy setup.

STEP 2: SHE LIKES CLOTH
Upgrade your setup by becoming an apprentice to the Sith Lord, Darth Backdrop. @MichaelX turned to the dark side first and convinced me quickly with the results he was getting. Even in this picture you can see the difference between black paper and black cloth. Green Stuff World has a few different sizes but I went with the XL MAXX DARTH. If anyone has any alternative sellers of a similar product please link them in here! GSW also has :two::deer: full lightbox solutions but like… just… grab a box… and… some lights… Hopefully the pictures below will at least justify the cloth purchase compared to sad doot Squidward above.

STEP 3: PHONE