Reaver Rises from the Sand

Ahoy, nice to see an introductions category popping up. Through the podcast and discord, many of this may be old information but I’ll give it a not at all brief go anyway.

My name is Jared for those that haven’t clicked on my avatar image before. I’m an engineer from the Sandy States of America, specifically from a small town that, for a fleeting moment, made national news for 1 (or 9) of the largest potholes in the country. Second most noteworthy claim to national news happened when the paper mill I once worked at blew up and we got meme’d because the principle narrators of the event were truckers coming to the plant watching the sky rain half processed paper pulp.

Outside our plastic addled hobby proper, skiing (both alpine and nordic) is one of my most cherished activities. I’ve also taken to collecting board games as that synergizes with Warhammer based hobbying and allows me to get games in with various groups of friends. If anyone wants to play games on Tabletop Simulator I’d be happy to fire it up. Scythe, Root, Terra Mystica, and Bloodborne the board game are my go-to titles.

My hobby journey started with a gift of a metal Tomb King Ushabti. Prior to that my tabletop gaming had been relegated to pre-painted Mage Knights with click dial bases. I collected steampunk dwarves (surprise)… My one local friend in the hobby and I dabbled with fantasy before switching to LotR SBG during the era of the movie releases. We made many creations using popsicle sticks and styrofoam, usually locations in Middle Earth. (Eventually we would move our battlefielding into 40k).